Economy and Gardening

Gardening and saving money. We recently moved from a house with a nice back yard to an apt. In our home, we had several areas to garden in. I did not think that by growing the veggies that we did, that we were really saving so much on groceries. Let me tell you that I was so wrong. We seriously spend over 100 bucks a month on veggies and it is just two of us. I had no idea that we spent that much. I also only buy when things are on sale. I have to say that per meal it is about one pound of a veggie, that is not to include a salad, or onions. I love grilled zucchini right… so I would pick one out of our garden that is normally about 3-4 lbs and we would eat that along with some type of starch and meat…now that if I had bought that at a store it could go from 3-8 dollars.. imagine if you do that twice a day for six days.. that adds up!

In my garden, I also had mints for tea, chamomile, herbs and a tomato garden.  I would normally make my own pasta sauce from my tomato garden as well as my sauce for chili. I can no longer do that as the price of fresh tomatoes is outrageous, so now we have to use canned tomatoes. It is just amazing to me how much one can save if one grows their veggies at home. Not only the saving but the taste of fresh veggies,  You can just eat right off of the plant with out the need of worrying about chemicals that are added. I sure miss my garden. You know I talk about monetary saving, but think about how therapeutic gardening is also. It is really price less. I have to say that once the weather gets warm, I will start up again with container gardening. If you have the space to do some container gardening, it may be time to start living off of what little space you have. If you are a person that loves to eat product this may be a solution for you as well.

I had never thought of having fruit trees in my home other than the small lemons and lime trees that we had but we settle in to a new home, I am going to be sure to grow somefruit trees as well.

Happy Gardening.

Gardening in small spaces.

To follow up on container gardening, I would have to say that if you have a patio, that gets 4-6 hours of sunlight, you may be able to grow a number of different fruits and vegetables. If you are looking to grow, zucchini, you will also need a trellis. I would recommend putting in the trellis at the same time that you plant you veggie. In this manner, you would avoid stabbing the feeder roots. Our mind set is to not harm any of the roots that your plant has already established. For example, when we transplant our tomato plant from the small pots that they come in, we place the tomato cage in at the same time. This way we will not cause the plant to stall do to shock caused my cutting off a few roots that supply the plant with what it needs to grow strong and healthy. Lets say that you want to grow broccoli in your container garden, we know that broccoli likes to form long deep roots so, I would plant this veggie in a deep 15 inch or bigger pot. I need to give my broccoli room to grow so that it will be happy. I do not want the plant to get root bound or root rot. Feeding is also important in container growing. Make sure that you know what your plant needs to grow strong and healthy. We know that broccoli like calcium… so we have to make sure that we feed her some calcium. I also like using garden Epsom salt. This is a great product to have for your plants. I would also suggest testing the ph on your soil. There are so many little tricks to growing wonderful healthy veggies. I have covered many items here on squidoo, read some of my postings. Also very important for those that container garden, make sure that your planter/pot has wholes for the water to run out of. You do not want to cause your roots to rot do to sitting in that water. Your plants are a living thing and should be treated well. The better you care of your plants the more love it will give you in return. She will bare a more abundant crop for you. We here are Plantstay are not here just for the sale of our product. We are here to help you by offering all different types of tips on growing a healthy garden. We feel that we as humans should be taught to grow our own produce.

Like the old saying goes…”Teach a man to fish and you will feed him for life” or something like that…

Plantstay Happy gardening.

About plantstay

I am a new product that was invented for the potted plant industry. I train and maintain your plant in the upright position without ever harming the roots. So I do not cause your plants to stall out, thereby increasing yields. 'Grow-on try me your plants will love you for it. Plantstay "It's like a paper clip for the potted plant"
This entry was posted in container growing, container growing veggies., Gardening, herb, herbs, hydroponics, organic gardening., plant support and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Economy and Gardening

  1. I really like your blog, the way you create posts and topic you covered are simply amazing. I know how tough it is to get the visitors interested. I have made the decision to add your website to my blog list.

Leave a Reply

